52 first timers in 15th Karnataka Assembly, 92 re-elected

The 15th Karnataka Assembly will have 52 new faces besides 92 of the 181 members who had re-contested , emerging victorious. The May 12 Assembly elections, which threw a number of surprises, saw as many as 16 of the Siddaramaiah government Ministers losing to highlight an undercurrent of anti incumbency. Even Speaker

K B Koliwad had to face defeat in Ranebennur. The elections saw BJP winning from 104 of the 222 constituencies followed by Congress whose tally from the previous assembly was considerably reduced to 78 from 122, Janata Dal (Seculr) 37, BSP 1, Ind one and others one.

While 22 of the first timers belong to the BJP, 19 belonged to the Congress and 8 to the Janata Dal (Secular). BSP’s N Mahesh, independent H Nagesh and R Shankar of Karnataka Pragnavanta Janata Party are also firs timers. Mr Shankar had defeated Mr Koliwad in Ranebennur.

Among the 219 women candidates only 7 were victorious. while four of them belonged to the Congress, three represented BJP.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply