SC refuses to stay swearing-in ceremony of BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa as CM of Karnataka

The Supreme Court on Thursday refused to stay the swearing-in of BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa as Chief Minister of Karnataka. A three-Judge Bench, comprising justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan, however, made it clear that the swearing-in and the government formation will be subject to the final outcome of the case before it.

The apex court was hearing a petition early Thursday morning filed by Congress and JD(S) challenging the governor’s decision to invite Mr Yeddyurappa to form a new government in the state.

In the petition filed by the two parties late Wednesday night, they sought to stay the swearing-in of Mr Yeddyurappa.

The Supreme Court also directed that the letter sent by the BJP to the governor for forming the government be placed before it.

The apex court also issued notices to the Karnataka government and Mr Yeddyurappa and posted the matter for further hearing on Friday morning.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply



Most Viewed Posts

%d bloggers like this: